AfRES annual conference for 2018 held in Abeokuta, Nigeria. Abeokuta is a city of over half a million population. It is about 77 kilometers north of Lagos and can be reached by train and road. It is situated on the Ogun River and famous for its granite rocks surrounding the city. Land is fertile and lies in the country wooded savanna. It was established around 1830 as a place of refuge from slave hunters for people from different tribes. The city saw different wars between different tribes over its history and also in 1940s saw the Abeokuta Women’s Revolt against taxation by the colonial government. There are several historical sites to be visited and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us in Abeokuta.

As usual, we have to thank the numerous sponsors who have assisted in different ways; the conference would not have been possible without their contributions. We trust that we will all benefit from the gathering through discussions, debates and networking both of a professional and academic nature.

Today, we can see the maturation happening around us on the African soil. Real estate markets are starting to show growth and higher levels of maturity. From the papers and presentations, data is starting to reflect a much needed understanding of these markets. The theme of this conference: “Integrating the African Real Estate Market – An Agenda”, appropriately shows trend.

This year we are a good proof that we are growing stronger and stronger. We had the highest number of submitted abstracts at 66 abstracts of which 50 will be presented. We had 22 for reviewing of which 14 were accepted and five non-reviewed papers. We appreciate the Scientific / Technical committee of the conference for their work in reviewing the submitted abstracts and papers. The feedback to the authors assisted greatly in finalizing them in the format presented in these proceedings. The papers printed in these proceedings were double-blind reviewed to ensure the highest standards and international comparability. The abstracts were reviewed and guidance given to authors.

contributed in bringing this conference together and making it happen. We are appreciative of the hours of work which some of our members dedicated to the process.

Kunle Awolaja
On behalf of the Organizing Committee
September 2018

The Scientific/ Technical Committee:

Benjamin Ekemode John Bugri Kola Ijasan
Catherine Kariuki Kenneth Cheruiyot Victor Akujuru
Kola Akinsomi Chris Cloete Saul Nurick
Daramola Olapade Rob McGaffin Aly Karam
Wilfred Anim-Odame Robert Simons Felician Komo
Emmanuel Kofi Gavu Yewande Adewunmi Abel Olaleye
Timothy Ayodele Francois Viruly
Olusegun Olanrele Tunde Oladokun